University of California, Riverside

University Honors

Professor of the Year

2013-2014 Professor of the Year Award

Dr. Jack Eichler
Dr. Jack Eichler

Lecturer of Chemistry

As a teaching track faculty member, Dr. Eichler's focus of scholarly activity lies in developing, implementing, and assessing more engaging learning environments for large enrollment general chemistry courses.  In teaching smaller Honors courses, he optimizes interactive pedagogy to engage students. As a teaching track faculty member, he also has the opportunity to conduct laboratory research with undergraduate students. His students are directly involved in synthesizing and characterizing gold (III) coordination complexes, and subsequently evaluating their biological properties and antitumor activity. He also works with a collaborator in biomedical sciences in an effort to determine the antiproliferative effects of a coordinating ligands on glioblastoma tumor cells, an extremely aggressive class of brain cancer.

Past University Honors Professors of the Year

  • Perry Link: 2012 - 2013
  • Charmaine Craig: 2011-2012
  • Gregory Beran: 2010-2011
  • William Barndt: 2009-2010
  • Chris Abani: 2008-2009
  • Carl Cranor: 2007-2008
  • Thomas Morton: 2006-2007
  • Andrew Reath: 2005-2006
  • Vivian-Lee Nyitray: 2004-2005
  • Robert Patch: 2003-2004
  • Deborah Wong: 2002-2003
  • Gary Watson: 2001-2002
  • Howard Friedman: 2000-2001
  • June O’Connor: 1999-2000
  • Gary Dymski: 1998-1999
  • Robin DiMatteo: 1997-1998
  • David Danow: 1996-1997
  • Randolph Head: 1995-1996
  • Kathleen Montgomery: 1994-1995
  • Virginia Vizthum: 1993-1994

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

UCR LibrariesCampus Status
Career OpportunitiesDiversity
Visit UCRMaps and Directions

Department Information

University Honors
381 Skye Hall

Tel: (951) 827-5323
Fax: (951) 827-5320

Related Links